A PayPal Phishing scam

I recently received this e-mail which was supposedly from PayPal and

I was am immediately suspcious when it says I need to update my

account with a link to update. I right clicked the link and retrieved the

address from the properties. I then Googled this address

and came up with this link https://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?name=

Surprise surprise, Norton shows this address as a Phishing attack threat.

Therefore, if you receive a similar email, don’t click on their link.

Dear PayPal Costumer,

It has come to our attention that your PayPal® account

information needs to be updated as part of our continuing

commitment to protect your account and to reduce the instance

of fraud on our website. If you could please take 5-10 minutes

out of your online experience and update your personal records

you will not run into any future problems with the online service.

However, failure to update your records will result in account

suspension. Please update your records before July 30, 2011

Once you have updated your account records, your PayPal®

account activity will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.

Click here to update your PayPal account information 

this link has been disabled

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s